Join Jews for Racial & Economic Justice and The Jewish Vote for our 2019 Awards Gala:

The Mazals

December 19th, 2019

5:30pm reception, 7:00pm program

El Museo del Barrio, 1230 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY (map link

This Year’s Remarkable Honorees

Mazals Awardee

Tiffany Cabán: the Rabbi Marshall T. Meyer Risk Taker Award

In the summer of 2019, Tiffany Cabán ran a groundbreaking and insurgent campaign for Queens District Attorney, transforming New York City politics and nearly toppling a Democratic machine complacent and complicit in denying the rights and dignity of immigrants, sex workers, and low wage New Yorkers. We honor her for the risks she took, the inspiration she provided to a burgeoning Left in NYC, and the values she continues to stand for.

Mazals Awardee

Mariame Kaba: the Melanie Kaye/Kantrowitz Visionary Award

Mariame Kaba is a long-time organizer and educator. We honor her for her bold and outspoken voice on prison abolition, her creative wisdom in movement building, and her commitment to youth leadership and empowerment.

Mazals Awardee

Make the Road NY: the Emma Lazarus Leading Light Award

Make the Road NY is a powerhouse grassroots organization that both meets the day-in-and-day-out needs of their members and works to transform the systems and power structures that give rise to those needs. We honor them in particular for their indisputable contributions to the victories of this year: historic rent laws legislation, the New York Dream Act, beating back Amazon, and winning the right to obtain a driver’s license in NY, regardless of immigration status.

The 2009 Board of Directors: The Member Bedrock Leader Award

Like so many individuals and organizations after the 2008 recession, JFREJ suffered a financial crisis in 2009 that almost resulted in closing our doors. Instead, we were anchored and lifted up by a steadfast crew of dedicated members, led by the Board of Directors. Without their persistence, commitment, and collaboration, we would not be here today. We honor and thank Rabbi Guy Austrian, Ilana Berger, John Berman, Adrienne Cooper z”l, Stosh Cotler, Shira Eve Epstein, Alison Hirsch, Rosza Daniel Lang/Levitsky, Ilanit Gerblich-Kalir, Jeyn Levison, Lorne Lieb, Sam J. Miller, Jon Moscow, Dana J. Schneider, Lucas Shapiro, Rabbi Alex Weissman, Elizabeth Wilson, and Quito Ziegler.

Join the Host Committee or Buy a Ticket

By joining the Host Committee, you commit to raising or donating $252 or one of the other levels below. We would be proud to list your name in printed and online materials, and ask that you do what you can to help make the event a success by inviting people, setting up a personal fundraiser, and/or promoting the event on social media.  Standard tickets are $108/sliding scale.


Add the attendee(s)’ contact information below. To add multiple attendees, click “Add another attendee”. 


After you submit the form, we ask that you make your contribution by clicking on one of the two links below, to donate to JFREJ or to The Jewish Vote.

We encourage all donors to give to The Mazals via the Jewish Vote, as these contributions will be used to fund both organizations activities, but are NOT tax-deductible for income tax purposes. Gifts to the Awards via JFREJ cannot be used for partisan political activity but ARE tax-deductible over $25.

Check back here for information about volunteering, childcare, access, and more!